VMware Certification Testing

Demonstrate Your Virtualization & Cloud Expertise

VMware offers world-class certifications designed to validate and recognize IT professionals with the technical capabilities and real-world experience needed to effectively design, deploy, and manage VMware technology based solutions. VMware certifications are available in four areas: Data Center Virtualization, Cloud, End User Computing, and Network Virtualization. Each specialty is broken down into distinct certification levels reflective of your skill and competency level:

  • VMware Certified Associate (VCA)
  • VMware Certified Professional (VCP)
  • VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP)
  • VMware Certified Implementation Expert (VCIX)
  • VMware Certified Design Expert (VCDX)

Detailed information can be found at VMware Certification.
For the latest news, please visit the VMware Education and Certification blog.

Certification Exam Registration

The exam registration process begins at vmware.com/certification, as all VMware certification exams require prior VMware authorization. Return to this page when you have gained VMware authorization, and are ready to schedule your test.

If this is your first time taking a VMware certification exam, please create a new web account using the Candidate ID provided in order to schedule the exam that you have been authorized to take. This is required even if you have taken other certification exams at Pearson VUE and have an existing account.

VMware Certification Exam Registration FAQ

Recertification Policy

On March 10, 2014, VMware announced a new recertification policy. Learn more at VMware.com/go/recertification.

VCAP exam retirement announcement

As of March 2, 2015, the following VCAP exams have been retired and registrations will no longer be accepted:

  • VCID510 - VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Cloud Infrastructure Design
  • VCIA510 - VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Cloud Infrastructure Administration
  • VDTA510 - VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Desktop Administration
  • VDTD510 - VMware Certified Advanced Professional 5 - Desktop Design

Please review the complete announcement on the VMware Education blog for details. For other questions or concerns, please contact the VMware Certification Support team

Enhanced Security Measures

As part of its ongoing commitment to ensuring the integrity of your VMware certification, we are strengthening security measures at testing locations. Security measures include the addition of a digital photo to a candidate’s score report and to the candidate authentication process. Candidates will have their photo taken when signing in for an exam.

Training and Test Preparation

VMware Training

VMware Training provides industry-leading technical training and certification that build and recognize the virtualization knowledge and expertise needed to transform IT. Whether you prefer classroom, live online, or self-paced courses VMware offers training options to fit your needs.

VMware Certification Marketplace

The VMware Certification Marketplace online store brings together leading publishers, practice exam providers and other content experts to provide best-of-breed learning resources. It’s the one-stop-shop for exam vouchers and exam prep resources that can help you prepare for VMware certification exams and, ultimately, career advancement.

VMware Press

VMware Press is the official publisher of VMware books and training materials that provide guidance for the critical topics facing today's technology professionals and students.

Last updated 2015-04-01